

Regional Committee for Europe Fifty-third session

Vienna, 8-11 September 2003

EUR/RC53/R1 8 September 2003 31944

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resolution

Membership of the Executive Board

The Regional Committee,

Mindful of the principle that all Member States in the European Region of WHO should have an equitable opportunity, over time, of participating in the work of the Executive Board;

Having considered the report of the subgroup established by the Standing Committee of the Regional Committee to evaluate current arrangements in the European Region of WHO with regard to membership of the Executive Board, as contained in Annex 2 to the Standing Committee's report (document EUR/RC53/4);

Noting that the Standing Committee has fully endorsed the whole set of recommendations made by the subgroup;

URGES those Member States that have not yet done so to ratify the amendments to Articles 24 and 25 of the WHO Constitution, which inter alia would give the European Region an eighth seat on the Board:

- 2. RECOMMENDS that, as from 2004, the criteria regarding the Member State and regarding the candidate and the geographic groupings, as proposed by the Standing Committee's subgroup in Annex 2 of document EUR/RC53/4 and annexed to this resolution, should be applied when selecting Member States in the European Region of WHO to submit candidatures for membership of the Board;
- 3. FURTHER RECOMMENDS that, as from 2006, the periodicity of Board membership for those Member States in the European Region of WHO that are permanent members of the United Nations Security Council should be extended to three out of six years;
- 4. CALLS ON Member States to take account of the guidelines contained in paragraph 15 of Annex 2 to the Standing Committee's report when designating persons to serve on the Board;
- 5. REQUESTS the Standing Committee to assess the experience gained in implementing the above recommendations and to report its findings to the Regional Committee at its sixtieth session in 2010.

Annex

Criteria for membership of the Executive Board

Objective criteria for selection of Member States

- 1. The Member State entitled to designate a person to serve on the Board should appoint a person technically qualified in the field of health, as spelled out in Article 24 of the WHO Constitution;
- 2. Previous representation on the Board:
 - Country never represented on the Board (although a member of WHO before 1991)
 - Country represented on the Board more than 20 years ago;
- 3. No country should be a member of the Board and the SCRC at the same time;
- 4. Having already been a member of the SCRC is an asset;
- 5. Having ratified amendments to Articles 24 and 25 of the WHO Constitution should be taken into consideration.

Criteria regarding the candidate

The following guidelines are proposed to Member States for the selection of candidates:

- (a) current position in the health administration in his/her country (or the position held in the near past) close to the political decision-making level;
- (b) experience of working with international organizations, WHO or other United Nations organizations;
- (c) ability to collaborate, coordinate and communicate within the country and between the countries;
- (d) experience of coordinating high-level political and/or technical programmes, nationally (interregional, interministerial) or internationally (bilateral or intercountry);
- (e) availability and commitment;
- (f) gender (female candidates encouraged).

Geographic groupings

I. Member countries of the European Union (EU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and southern European countries: 32 countries (5 seats)

EU: 26 countries

EFTA + southern European countries:

Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino

Divided into two subgroups:

"North"

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom

"South"

Andorra, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

II. Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) + "South-East": 20 countries (2 seats)

Divided into two subgroups:

CIS

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

"South-East"

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Israel, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey